Public Health & Professional Degree Programs Spring 2018 Schedule

PH, HCOM, PREP, and DRMD Classes begin on Thursday, January 18

Attention MD/MPH, DVM/MPH & MD/MBA: First and Second year classes meet every Tuesday afternoon (exception MD and DVM Spring Break). Start dates are noted next to the course.

Any change to this Tuesday schedule will be noted next to the specific course in the schedule at the bottom of this page.

 

Meeting Dates:

 

Monday Classes: January 22, 29; February 5, 12, 22 (Thursday), 26; March 5, 12, 26; April 2, 9, 23, 30; May 7

Tuesday Classes: January 23, 30; February 6, 13, 20, 27; March 6, 13, 27; April 3, 10, 17, 24; May 1

Wednesday Classes: January 24, 31; February 7, 14, 21, 28; March 7, 14, 28; April 4, 11, 18, 25; May 2

Thursday Classes: January 18, 25; February 1, 8, 15; March 1, 8, 15, 29; April 5, 12, 19, 26; May 3

Friday Classes: January 19, 26; February 2, 09, 16, 23; March 2, 09, 16, 30; April 6, 13, 20, 27

 

May 8-11 (Make up dates for cancelled classes due to University weather related closings.)

 

Building Locations:

 

Sackler (SK) Building: 145 Harrison Avenue (B09 is located on the basement level)
Biomedical Research and Public Health: 136 Harrison Avenue (MV102 and MV105 Conference Rooms are located on the first floor)
Jaharis (JH) Building: 150 Harrison Avenue
Kneeland Classroom Space: 35 Kneeland Street

 

Last Updated: 3/20/17

 

PLEASE NOTE: SCHEDULE SUBJECT TO CHANGE


PH / HCOM / PREP / DRMD Spring 2018

Course # & Section #

Title

Days/Times

NB: Some courses have more specific meeting dates than listed above; check this column and/or notes.

Notes

Prerequisites

Max Enrollment

Location

PH 0201-01

Dammann

Olaf.Dammann@tufts.edu

Principles of Epidemiology (1cr)

W, 2:00pm - 5:00pm

-

-

24

 

PH 0201-02

Djousse

Luc.Djousse@tufts.edu

Principles of Epidemiology (1cr)

W, 2:00pm - 5:00pm

-

This section is reserved for students in the MBS Program.

24

 

PH 0204-01

Rioux

Christine.Rioux@tufts.edu

Occupational & Environmental Health (1cr)

T, 2:00pm - 5:00pm

-

-

24

 

PH 0204-02

Tessler

Jamie.Tessler@tufts.edu

Occupational & Environmental Health (1cr)

M, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

-

-

24

 

PH 0205-01

Tang

Alice.Tang@tufts.edu

Principles of Biostatistics (1cr)

Th, 2:00pm - 5:00pm

-

-

24

 

PH 0205-02

Woodin

Mark.Woodin@tufts.edu

Principles of Biostatistics (1cr)

W, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

-

-

24

 

PH 0206-01

Chui

Kenneth.Chui@tufts.edu

Intermediate Biostatistics: Regression Methods (1cr)

M, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

-

PH 0205 with a B or better

or NUTR 0307 or NUTR 0309 with a B- or better

20

 

PH 0210-01

Fain

Barbara.Fain@tufts.edu

Law in Public Health (1cr)

M, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

-

-

24

 

PH 0213-01

Leader

David.Leader@tufts.edu

Integration of Public Health (0.5cr)

TBD

DMD/MPH only

 

7

 

PH 0215-01

Lischko

Amy.Lischko@tufts.edu

Public Health & Health Care: Politics, Policies & Programs (1cr)

M, 2:00pm - 5:00pm 

BA/MPH students are not eligible to enroll in this course if they have successfully completed CH002 and must enroll in PH 0228 - Advanced Health Care Policy.

-

24

 

PH 0216-01

Haas

Mark_Haas@sshosp.org

Health Care Organization: Budgeting & Management (1cr)

T, 5:30pm - 8:30 pm

-

-

30

 

PH 0221-02

Ona

Fernando.Ona@tufts.edu

Public Health Methods of Inquiry (0.5cr)

W, 9:00am - 12:00pm

1st 7 weeks

-

20

 

PH 0222-01

Tybor

David.Tybor@tufts.edu

Survey Research Methods & Data Management (1cr)

W, 12:30pm - 3:30pm

-

Core Epidemiology or HCOM 0502 Required

Core Biostatistics Recommended

20

 

PH 0225-01

Ona

Fernando.Ona@tufts.edu

Qualitative Tools for Research and Methods (0.5cr)

W, 9:00am - 12:00pm

2nd 7 weeks, course begins March 14

Core Epidemiology or HCOM 0502 required

24

 

PH 0227-01

Skeer

Margie.Skeer@tufts.edu

Snort, Swallow, Smoke: Drugs and Behavior (1cr)

T, 9:00am - 12:00pm

-

-

15

 

PH 0229-01

Buyea & Ona

Beth.Buyea@tufts.edu

Fernando.Ona@tufts.edu

Integration of Public Health (0.5cr)

W, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

 

Dates TBA

PA/MPH Students Only

-

10

 

PH 0231-01

Daudelin

ddaudelin@tuftsmedicalcenter.org

Health Services Quality Improvement Methods (1cr)

Th, 2:30pm - 5:00pm

-

-

15

 

PH 0234-01

Cohen Sacks

Naomi.Sacks@tufts.edu

Public Health Economics (0.5cr)

T, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

1st 7 weeks

-

20

 

PH 0235-01

Cohen Sacks

Naomi.Sacks@tufts.edu

Advanced Public Health Economics (0.5cr)

T, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

2nd 7 weeks, course begins March 13

Recommended: Prior Economics Knowledge/Coursework

20

 

PH 0244-01

Bermudez

Odilia.Bermudez@tufts.edu

Research Methods in Global Health (1cr)

W, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

-

PH 0205, plus proficiency in one stats package (preferably SPSS or SAS)

15

 

PH 0247-01

Knox

Tamsin.Knox@tufts.edu

Global Health Priorities & Approaches (1cr)

T, 2:00pm - 5:00pm

-

-

24

 

PH 0262-01

Stopka

Thomas.Stopka@tufts.edu

GIS for Public Health (0.5cr)

F, 9:00am - 12:00pm

2nd 7 weeks, course begins March 9

PH 0201

24

 

PH 0285-01

Dryden

edryden@challiance.org

Evaluation of Health Programs (1cr)

Th, 9:00am - 12:00pm

Half of class sessions will be held at

Institute for Community Health,

350 Main Street, 4th Floor,

Malden, MA 02148:

 

 

PH 0221

12

 

PH 0287-01

Hattis & Wulff

Paul.Hattis@tufts.edu

Megan.Wulff@state.ma.us

Field Course: Introduction to a Health Care Governmental Agency (0.5cr)

W, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

 

 

Attendance also required at HPC Spring Board Meetings:

 

 

PH 0215, PH 0228, or instructor approval

12

 

PH 0288-01

Davis

Mary.Davis@tufts.edu

Public Health and the Built Environment (1cr)

T/Th, 10:30am - 11:45am

Classes held in Medford

-

-

 

PH 0301-01

Chomitz

Virignia.Chomitz@tufts.edu

Applied Learning Experience/Planning Seminar (0.5cr)

Global Health ALEs should register for PH 304

W, 4:00pm - 5:20pm

Except

: 2:00pm - 5:20pm

Dates: TBA

Attendance at ALE Presentations:

-

PH 0201, PH 0221, and Core Course connected to student's concentration

12

 

PH 0301-02

Hudson

Linda.Hudson@tufts.edu

Applied Learning Experience/Planning Seminar (0.5cr)

Global Health ALEs should register for PH 304

W, 4:00pm - 5:20pm

Attendance at ALE Presentations:

-

PH 0201, PH 0221, and Core Course connected to student's concentration

12

 

 PH 0302-01

TBA

Applied Learning Experience/Implementation Seminar (0.5cr)

W, 4:00pm - 5:20pm

Class Meeting Dates: TBA

Dress Rehearsal:

ALE Presentations:

-

PH 0301 ALE Planning Seminar and all CORE courses. Core courses may be taken concurrently with PH 0302 with special permission from concentration leader. This permission must be communicated to PHPD Registrar prior to Implementation semester.

MPH-HCOM concentrators must also have already completed CEMR 0614, CEMR 0651, and PH 0222 or PH 0225. MPH-HCOM concentrators are allowed to take HCOM 0508, PH 0216, and electives concurrent with PH 0302.

(Students will not be permitted to stay in this course if they have not had their work plan from PH 0301 approved by the professor.)

10

 

PH 0302-02

TBA 

Applied Learning Experience/Implementation Seminar (0.5cr)

W, 4:00pm - 5:20pm

Class Meeting Dates: TBA

Dress Rehearsal:

ALE Presentations

-

PH 0301 ALE Planning Seminar and all CORE courses. Core courses may be taken concurrently with PH 0302 with special permission from concentration leader. This permission must be communicated to PHPD Registrar prior to Implementation semester.

MPH-HCOM concentrators must also have already completed CEMR 0614, CEMR 0651, and PH 0222 or PH 0225. MPH-HCOM concentrators are allowed to take HCOM 0508, PH 0216, and electives concurrent with PH 0302.

(Students will not be permitted to stay in this course if they have not had their work plan from PH 0301 approved by the professor.)

10

 

PH 0302-03

Ginny Chomitz

Virgina.chomitz@tufts.edu

Applied Learning Experience/Implementation Seminar (0.5cr)

W, 4:00pm - 5:20pm

Dress Rehearsal:

ALE Presentations:

-

PH 0301 ALE Planning Seminar and all CORE courses. Core courses may be taken concurrently with PH 0302 with special permission from concentration leader. This permission must be communicated to PHPD Registrar prior to Implementation semester.

MPH-HCOM concentrators must also have already completed CEMR 0614, CEMR 0651, and PH 0222 or PH 0225. MPH-HCOM concentrators are allowed to take HCOM 0508, PH 0216, and electives concurrent with PH 0302.

(Students will not be permitted to stay in this course if they have not had their work plan from PH 0301 approved by the professor.)

10

PH 0304-01

Aramati

Mireille.Aramati@tufts.edu

Global Health Applied Learning Experience Planning Seminar (0.5cr)

Global Health ALEs Only

W, 4:00pm - 5:20pm

Dates: TBA

Attendance at ALE Presentations: 5

-

PH 0201, PH 0221, and Core Course connected to student's concentration

12

 

PH 0702-01

Alegre

Juan-Carlos.Alegre@tufts.edu

Monitoring & Evaluating Public Health Programs (1cr)

Th, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

DrPH Only

-

5

 

PH 0706-01

Koch-Weser

Susan.Koch_Weser@tufts.edu

DrPH Seminar - First Year Students (0.5cr)

TBA

DrPH Only

-

5

-

PH 0708-01

Lischko

Amy.Lischko@tufts.edu

DrPH Seminar - Second Year Students (0.5cr)

TBA

DrPH Only

-

5

-

PH 0712-01

Forrester

Janet.Forrester@tufts.edu

Public Health Epidemiology (0.5cr)

TBA

DrPH Only

-

5

-

PH 0721-01

Forrester

Janet.Forrester@tufts.edu

Journal Club - 1st Year Students

TBA

DrPH Only

-

5

-

PH 0723-01

Forrester

Janet.Forrester@tufts.edu

Journal Club - 2nd Year Students

TBA

DrPH Only

-

5

-

NUTR 0228-01

Community & Public Health Nutrition (1cr)

Please check Friedman Schedule; students will need to cross-register for this course

-

NUTR 0202

N/A

-

HCOM 0502-01

Forrester

Janet.Forrester@tufts.edu

Epidemiology/Biostatistics: Reading Med Lit. (1cr)

W, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

-

-

24

 

HCOM 0508-01

Samplin-Salgado

Michelle.Samplin_Salgado@tufts.edu

Technology and Design for Public Health (0.5cr)

M, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

1st 7 weeks

-

15

 

HCOM 0509-01

Kurtz-Rossi

Sabrina_Kurtz-rossi@comcast.net

Health Literacy Seminar (0.5cr)

1 week course in January, 1/9-1/13

8:30am - 2:30pm

-

-

15

 

HCOM 0513-01

Paradis

Writing for Public Health Professionals (0.5cr)

T, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

1st 7 weeks

-

12

 

HCOM 0514-01

Gualtieri

Lisa.Gualtieri@tufts.edu

Social Media & Health (1cr)

Th, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Synchronous Online Course

via WebEx

Students will be required to join weekly, online class sessions during the allocated time slot.

14

 

HCOM 0522-01

Kurtz-Rossi

Sabrina_Kurtz-rossi@comcast.net

Changing Health Behaviors: Healthy People and Communities (1cr)

Th, 2:00pm - 5:00pm

Hybrid Course

Delivered online every other week

-

20

 

HCOM 0522-02

Ndulue

Uchenna.Ndulue@tufts.edu

Changing Health Behaviors: Healthy People and Communities (1cr)

W, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

-

-

20

 

HCOM 0525-01

Gallagher

Sue.Gallagher@tufts.edu

Applied Learning Experience/Seminar (1cr)

M, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

ALE Presentations: TBA

-

Final Semester of Study

10

 

HCOM 0536-01

Hudson

linda.hudson@tufts.edu

Health, Culture and Communication (0.5cr)

T, 2:00pm - 5:00pm

1st 7 weeks

One of the following courses:

HCOM 0522, CEMR 0614, NUTR 0218, NUTR 0221

15

 

HCOM 0544-01

Lancaster

w.lancaster@neu.edu

Professional Communication (0.5cr)

Th, 5:30pm - 7:30pm

Class meets for 10 sessions; last class is April 5

-

-

10

 

HCOM 0549-01

TBA

Media Strategies for the Health Prof. (1cr)

T, 5:30PM 8:30PM

HCOM 0548-01: Applications of Communication Theory

24

 

PREP 0234-01

McNicol & Carr

ewanmcnicol@comcast.net

Daniel.Carr@tufts.edu

Introduction to Clinical Pain Problems (1cr)

 

Plus 7 asynchronous online sessions

Hybrid Course

PREP 0230 or Course Director Approval

15

 

PREP 0236-01

Bradshaw & Strafford

Libby.Bradshaw@tufts.edu

mstrafford@mac.com

Principles of Change & Education Applied to Pain Management (0.5cr)

Dates:

2nd 7 weeks

 

Hybrid Course

-

15

 

PREP 0238-01

Schatman

Michael.Schatman@tufts.edu

Evaluation and Treatment of Pain: Psychological Approaches (0.5cr)

Dates:

1st 7 weeks

Hybrid Course

-

15

 

PREP 0246-01

Ressler & Strafford

Pamela.Ressler@tufts.edu

mstrafford@mac.com

Mindfulness and its Application to the Experience of Pain (0.5cr)

T, 6:00pm - 9:00pm

1st 7 weeks

-

15

 

PREP 0251-01

Bradshaw

Libby.Bradshaw@tufts.edu

Capstone Project Planning (0.5cr)

Dates/Times: TBA

(6-7 class sessions + 6 individual meetings)

Presentations: TBA

-

-

10

-

PREP 0252-01

Bradshaw

Libby.Bradshaw@tufts.edu

Capstone Project Implementation (0.5cr)

Dates/Times: TBA

(6-7 class sessions + 6 individual meetings)

Presentations: TBA

-

PREP 0251

10

-


 

MD / DVM / MPH Spring 2018

Course # & Section #

Program

Title

End/Start

Days/Times

Class

Location

CMPH 0122-01

Lischko

MD/MPH

 

MD/MPH-Maine

Intro to Health Services Part I (0.5cr)

 

 

2021

 

CMPH 0133-01

Tybor

MD/MPH

 

MD/MPH-Maine

Principles of Epidemiology & Inferential Statistics II (1cr)

 

 

2021

 

CMPH 0136-01

Haas

MD/MPH

 

MD/MPH-Maine

 

DVM/MPH

Health Care Organization: Budgeting & Management (1cr)

 

 

2021

 

CMPH 0151-01, 0251-01, 0351-01

Chui & Faculty

MD/MPH

MD/MPH-Maine

Integration of Public Health

(1cr earned at the end of the 3rd year)

 

 

2019, 2020, 2021

 

CMPH 0151-DVM, 0251-DVM, 0351-DVM, 0451-DVM

Rosenbaum

DVM/MPH

Integration of Public Health

(1cr earned at the end of the 4th year)

 

 

2018, 2019, 2020, 2021

-

CMPH 0170-01

Rosenbaum

DVM/MPH

Global Population Health

(1 year course continued from Fall, 0.5cr earned in the Spring)

 

 

2021

-

CMPH 0203-01

Levy

MD/MPH

 

MD/MPH-Maine

Introduction to Environmental & Occupational Health (1cr)

 

 

2020

CMPH 0207-01

Brown/McGuill

DVM/MPH

Legal Basis of Public Health Veterinary Medicine (0.5cr)

 

 

2020

 

CMPH 0208-01

Boumil

MD/MPH

 

MD/MPH-Maine

 

DVM/MPH

Public Health Field Experience (1cr)

T, 5/2

Tues, May 2, 1:15pm - 4:15pm

2021

 

CMPH 0253-01

Bradshaw

DVM/MPH

Applied Learning Experience Planning Seminar (0cr)

-

TBA

2020

 

CMPH 0353-01

Bradshaw

MD/MPH

 

MD/MPH-Maine

Applied Learning Experience Planning Seminar (0cr)

-

Fri, March 31, 9:30am - 12:00pm

Fri, April 7, 9:30am - 12:00pm

Wed, April 19, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

2019

 

CMPH 0357-01

Lischko/Seifert

MD/MPH

 

MD/MPH-Maine

Health Care Reform and More: Current Topics in American Health Care Policy (0.5cr)

T/Th, TBA

T/Th, 4:30pm - 7:30pm

Except 3/30, 4:30pm - 6:00pm

2019

 

CMPH 0453-01

Bradshaw/Schlaff

MD/MPH

 

MD/MPH-Maine

Applied Learning Experience Implementation (1cr)

-

Fri, April 14, 8:00am - 6:00pm

2018

 

3rd & 4th Year CMPH Elective Options: Elective Block Dates and offerings TBA

MD / MBA Spring 2018

Course # & Section #

Program

Title

End/Start

Days/Times

Class

Location

HS246b

Tybor

MD/MBA

Statistics

4/28 - 5/23

Fri, April 28, 4:00pm - 7:15pm
Tues, May 2, 2:00pm - 5:15pm
Tues, May 9, 2:00pm - 5:15pm
Tues, May 16, 2:00pm - 5:15pm
Fri, May 19, 3:15pm - 6:30pm
Tues, May 23, 2:00pm - 5:15pm

2021

HS343f

Baaj

MD/MBA

Healthcare Entrepreneurship Bootcamp

TBA

TBA

2018

-

 

 

 

Public Health and Professional Degree Programs, Tufts University School of Medicine
136 Harrison Avenue / Boston, MA 02111 / USA
617-636-0935

Version date: 3/17/17
Copyright 2023, Tufts University
Comments to: Student Services